Republican Party

Local News
8:30 am
Tue September 24, 2013

Maryland GOP Lawmakers Choose New Leadership

State Senator David Brinkley (R-Carroll)

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) - Republican leaders in Maryland have selected a new minority leader and minority whip for the state Senate.

The lawmakers met Monday in Annapolis and elected state Sen. David R. Brinkley to be the minority leader. The Frederick County lawmaker was previously minority leader from 2007 to 2008. He replaces E.J. Pipkin of Cecil County who announced last month that he would resign from the 47-member Senate to pursue a career in sports management in Texas. Republicans have 12 seats in the chamber.

Read more
8:47 am
Mon April 22, 2013

Eastern Shore Republican to Head MD GOP

Maryland Republican State Chair Diane Waterman
Credit official photo

New MD GOP Chair

TIMONIUM, Md. (AP) - Eastern Shore realtor Diana Waterman has been elected chairwoman of the Maryland Republican Party.

The Queen Anne's County realtor and bookkeeper was elected Saturday at the party's spring convention in Timonium. Waterman will serve out the term of Alex Mooney, a former state senator who announced in February that he was stepping down from the post. Waterman has been serving as interim chairwoman.

Read more