Maryland and Delaware law enforcement is expected to be out in force on Monday – that is Saint Patrick’s Day.
In Maryland a first offense for driving under the influence could get you a fine of up to $1-thousand and a sentence of 1 year in jail.
In addition, the violation comes with 12 points on your driver’s license and a suspension for six months.
In Delaware a DUI could cost a motorist his license for up to 1 year and a $6-thousand fine among other penalties.
WBOC reports that Delaware motorists should expect saturation patrols in areas ranging from Laurel and Harrington to Millsboro and Seaford as well as New Castle County.
ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) - The Maryland House of Delegates is scheduled to vote on a measure that would toughen penalties for those caught drinking and driving with children in a car.
The bill would require a person convicted of transporting a minor while driving under the influence of alcohol to participate in the state's ignition interlock system program.
The House is scheduled to vote on the bill Friday.
Ignition interlock devices are installed in vehicles to measure how much a person has had to drink. If the reading goes over a limit, the car won't start.
Those convicted of DUI with a passenger under age 16 would have to use the device for six months.